Trinity Visit

(Originally posted at ClobberBlog)

trinity

If you’ve been following this blog, then you know that I’m applying to two programs: the MA — History of Christianity in America program at Trinity Evangelical Divinity School in Deerfield, Illinois and the MA — Pastoral Studies (General Studies) program at Multnomah Biblical Seminary in Portland, Oregon. The latter is a general program which we would tailor to include as much historical study as possible.

I first learned about Trinity when I was a sophomore at BYU and a large group of students from TEDS and Trinity International University came to visit the campus. I loved them. They were respectful of the LDS culture around them, very outgoing and passionate about their faith and I had a great week spending time with them. They were the ones who first suggested that I consider Trinity for graduate school.

So, I’m flying to Chicago on Sunday to visit the Trinity campus with the possibility of fall enrollment in mind, and I’m way past excited. This is my program schedule, and I believe I’ll be meeting all or most of the history faculty. Scott Manetsch was kind enough to answer some questions for me in e-mail a few months ago, and I’ve been reading The American Evangelical Story by Douglas Sweeney this past week and enjoying it thoroughly. BTW, it’s been a really good overview of evangelical history if anyone is looking to learn more about us.

I’m also meeting up with Kevin Barney of By Common Consent; if you haven’t read his recent Dialogue article “How to Worship Our Heavenly Mother (Without Getting Excommunicated),” you should. It’s an interesting argument concerning an internal issue within Mormonism and any outsiders wishing to understand and engage LDS thought are wise to be aware of it. I met up with Kevin a few years ago at a FAIR or Sunstone conference (I forget which). We share the same undergraduate major and a love of Buffy the Vampire Slayer and I’m looking forward to seeing him again.

In the meantime, I’m also finalizing plans to visit the Multnomah campus in Oregon and I’ll post about that when I know more. I won’t be leaving until Sunday morning, but I don’t think I’ll be doing any more blog posts until I return on Tuesday. Wish me luck and pray for my plane to not crash; I’m kind of paranoid about flying.

(Image Source: Trinity web site )

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal Reflections

Leave a Reply

