From Here

(Originally posted at ClobberBlog)

Aslan & Edmund

So, lately I’ve been feeling like I’m on a journey of self-discovery. It’s been weighing on me more and more that I can explain (and even defend) LDS theology, history, doctrine and practice better than I can evangelical theology, history, doctrine and practice, and it’s left me feeling somewhat disconnected from the faith I call my own. I started learning about Mormonism through the Internet and discussion boards, and that worked out okay, so what’s good for the goose is good for the gander, right?

I’ve registered for the forums at TheologyWeb and been doing some lurking, searching archives and occasional posting there. I think some of the exchanges in the LDS-Mormonism section are needlessly barbarous, but when it comes to traditional Christian theology, a lot of people seem to know what they’re talking about and I’m learning new things. For example, traducianism! (Yes, I’m being lazy and linking to Wikipedia.) I had never even heard of this concept. Mormons don’t give a damn about traducianism; they don’t teach you about the traducianism v. creationism debate at BYU. Well, maybe they do, but not in any of the classes I took, and I did the entire religion core. I suppose I’ve always passively held to a creationist view, but I’ve never actually thought things out. Now I have no idea which one I believe—but I can’t wait to decide!

I’m sure I’ll move on to actually, like, reading books on theology soon enough, but one thing at a time.

In other news, I actually need some feedback on the next thing to write about for this blog. I had intended for my Divorce segment to be the last part of my interfaith marriage series, but I wonder: would it be useful/helpful to anyone for me to write about how interfaith marriage has played out with our extended families, ie the dread in-laws? I’m reluctant to dredge up past conflicts with family because most of them are actually Internet-savvy and do occasionally read this blog, but if it would be useful to anyone, I’ll write tactfully about it. If I don’t hear from anyone, I’ll just move on to something else.

That something else will probably be the story of how I got involved with Mormonism like I did and my thoughts on various LDS doctrines, policies and historical issues. Would also cover my time as an evangelical at BYU. I’m still struggling with writing my Christian testimony to my satisfaction, and I plan to pour out my thoughts on the issue of why evangelicals often mistreat Mormons where Mormons refuse to return the mistreatment.

All coming up… you know, at my pace. Check back in a year and I might have posted something.

Leave a comment

Filed under Blogs, Christian Life, Interfaith

Leave a Reply

